A spectacular night.  The stadium was really great.  Very clean with a lot of food and merch areas set up.  The retractable roof is so cool, and pretty quick.  They opened and closed it I think three times during the night (I think for fireworks, lighting, etc.).  I think they only changed the canvas twice, which is less than the last PPV I went to, but they swept it between almost every match.  I was sitting basically directly behind the ring across from the camera, in row 21.  Amazing view.

I might not do too great a job with the matches here.  I’m going to re-watch them at some point so I’m going off memory.

The dark match was a 26-man battle royal.  They all hardly fit in the ring at first!  The NXT guys were standing at the top of the ramp watching, which I thought was a good idea.  It gave them more exposure and also let them see a WrestleMania crowd.  The match started off as can be expected with 26 people in the ring, but it turned out very well.  I was a bit surprised that Yoshi Tatsu won, but it was exciting for him.  He got a good reaction.

The Unified Tag match seemed a little quiet after the loud reactions to the entrances.  I think R-Truth and Morrison both got slightly new TitanTron videos, but I’m not completely sure.  It was a good match; I was leaning towards MizShow or whoever retaining, so that didn’t surprise me (though I can’t say I’m 100% happy about it).

The Triple Threat was a good match.  Cody seems to look more old-school every time he changes outfits!  Ah, that’s one thing I love about WrestleMania, they all get new clothes!  Anyway.  Ted busted his head a bit at one point, but it didn’t look too bad so they didn’t stop the match.  The ref did put on gloves, though.  Big cheers for Orton.  He got up in the corner and hit his pose; that’s how you know he’s a good guy again! (Well, as good as Orton is,  I guess.)  He was standing there for a while then climbed down, but that was during the replays so they had him go back up so they could film it.

I really liked Money in the Bank.  I think people enjoyed seeing McIntyre get his ass kicked.  Bourne stole the show at a couple points, and Christian, Kofi, and Hardy had some huge moments as well.  I thought Kane was great.  I was a little bit surprised that Swagger won.  There were a couple in there I knew wouldn’t win (McIntyre, didn’t think Hardy would).  I didn’t think Swagger was out of it completely, but he wasn’t one I picked as most likely.  It took him about a year to unclip the briefcase haha.  It was a good match though and like I said in my RAW post, I think it’s good that he won.

Triple H vs. Sheamus was not bad at all, but I wouldn’t say spectacular.  Sheamus needed to lose that.

I liked Punk vs. Mysterio.  It took me until the end of the match to realize Mysterio was dressed like a character from Avatar, but that’s not that important.  There was something wrong with his entrance, it took forever and then all the sudden he was kneeling on the ramp, I think I missed it.  I knew Punk couldn’t win because they would never put Mysterio in the Society, but I thought they did a great job (as did Serena and Luke Gallows!).

I’m happy Bret beat the hell out of Vince, because that is exactly what happened.  Also all along I wanted Natalya to hit him, so I was happy.  I liked that they managed to incorporate the rest of the Hart family into the match, I think it helped make it more meaningful.  It was also good though that Tyson and DH Smith (and Bret obviously) did most/all of the actual fighting and they weren’t trying to force things to happen.  It seemed that a lot of people got restless in the middle of the match when Bret had the chair, and especially the crowbar,  for so long, and just wanted a SharpShooter to end it.  That was the only way it could end, and it was awesome.

Edge vs. Jericho was just about a perfect match.  It was very well done and I expected nothing less.  I wasn’t really sure who’d win, and I would have been happy either way, but now Jericho can gloat endlessly which will be great.

I actually enjoyed the Divas match!  Vickie actually wrestling was just spectacular as well.  But I thought, even though it was fairly short, that the moves they did were good (except Eve’s stupid thing that she always misses) and it was just…not terrible like those matches can be.  I’m still surprised Mickie James is wrestling already but I think it’s awesome for her.

While watching the Cena/Batista match, I realized I didn’t care much about it.  It wasn’t really bad, it was fine, and what I expected.  I just wasn’t terribly invested in it, but that was personal and didn’t have anything to do with the promotion or the wrestling.  I thought it was kind of dumb that big bad Batista tapped out so quick, but I understand why they did that.

And, of course, Undertaker vs. Shawn Michaels.  I’ve been avoiding rewatching last year’s match because I thought this one couldn’t be nearly as good.  It was maybe not quite on the same epic level, but I would definitely not say that I was disappointed at all.  It was a really great match.  They had some big spots and just handled everything so perfectly.  I was pretty sure HBK was done, too.  But after the match ‘Taker stumbled up and hugged him and left, leaving Shawn in the ring.  It was obviously historic and pretty sad to realize it was his last match, but I think it couldn’t have been done better.

I took pictures of the set and entrances (along with some memorabilia and stuff at Axxess).  At some point I’ll go through them and post the ones I like.

The whole night was just great.  There really is something about a WrestleMania crowd.  Obviously it’s bigger, but there really did seem to be an extra buzz in the air and it was a really cool thing to be a part of.  I feel like this little recap didn’t do anything justice!

