I watched SmackDown last night for the first time in a LONG time, and I have to say I really enjoyed it. Having only two hours felt refreshing; I wasn’t overloaded with wrestling, and it didn’t feel like they had to fill time up. The show moved along easily and was a lot of fun.

Edge was there which was awesome. He’s one of the best, and it’s always good to see him. The show had a lot of solid matches and moved storylines along well. I think they’re doing a good job with Kane and Daniel Bryan, and I’m always a little surprised how entertained I am by that! But last night at the end of the show when there were like 6 guys in the ring with Kane and Bryan hitting everyone with chairs, I loved it. It was funny and different, but is also developing an interesting story.

Which brings me to my next point: tag teams. I don’t want to jinx it, but I really think they are coming back. There were 4 teams (1 wrestling and 3 watching) in the main event last night, including Kane and Bryan. I know there are a couple more teams on RAW, too, with Primo & Epico and Kofi & R-Truth at least. The others were the Usos, Justin Gabriel & Tyson Kidd, and the Titus ONeill & Darren Young. That’s quite a few, and most of those are often ONLY in tag matches.

This, my friends, makes me very happy. I think tag team wrestling can be SO cool when it’s done well. For a while there was really a lack of it in WWE, but I really have a good feeling about the tag division. Having dedicated tag wrestlers vs. just throwing some popular guys together is really what they needed, and they’ve done it. I’m excited!

